French national champion Loana Lecomte grins on taking XCO victory at MTB World Cup Crans-Montana in Switzerland.

Loana Lecomte claims technical World Cup victory in Switzerland

The French national champion is back on top with a home Olympics just around the corner.

Loana Lecomte (Canyon CLLCTV) wins MTB World Cup XCO in Crans-Montana, Switzerland. Photo: © Piper Albrecht

Ryan Simonovich
by Ryan Simonovich 23.06.2024 Photography by
Piper Albrecht
More from Ryan +

Loana Lecomte demonstrated pristine form on a slick and technical track in Crans-Montana to claim the World Cup XCO victory. 

The race began with a start loop that was the same as Saturday’s short track course, and it was Kate Courtney (Scott-SRAM), Loana Lecomte (Canyon CLLCTV), Alessandra Keller (Thömus maxon), and Gwen Gibson (Trek Factory Racing) who found themselves at the front. Lecomte gained a 15-second lead on the first steep downhill showcasing her technical skills. 

Puck Pieterse (Alpecin-Deceuninck) embarked on a full-on chase during the first full lap. Slick, muddy conditions forced the women to dismount and run at points, even the leaders. Lecomte kept her advantage through the first lap with Pieterse and Keller in fast pursuit. 

Pieterse made contact with the French national champion and overtook her on the climb, using her cyclocross skills to navigate the thick mud sections both on the bike and on foot. But then Lecomte regained the lead from Pieterse, who was having issues clipping her muddy shoes back into the pedals, as Keller bridged the deficit and back into contention. 

It appeared that the leaders would continue watching each other like hawks all race long, waiting to capitalize on any mistakes – or more misfortune – from their rivals. 

Keller kept Lecomte in check, but the French rider was able, apparently effortlessly, to pull out gaps on the downhills. Meanwhile, Pieterse rode about 20 seconds back from the leaders, and Specialized’s Laura Stigger was another minute behind her in fourth. 

Keller did have some moments of brilliance but ultimately could not stick with Lecomte. Behind, Pieterse and Stigger held steady in their respective positions. 

Lecomte won with a 46-second margin in the end, with nearly four minutes separating the top-5 riders.

Women’s XCO Results

  1. Loana Lecomte (Canyon CLLCTV)
  2. Alessandra Keller (Thömus Maxon) +0:46
  3. Puck Pieterse (Alpecin-Deceuninck) +1:33
  4. Laura Stigger (Specialized Factory Racing) +2:18
  5. Evie Richards (Trek Factory Racing-Pirelli) +3:57
  6. Nicole Koller (Ghost Factory Racing) +4:48
  7. Caroline Bohé (Ghost Factory Racing) +4:56
  8. Linda Indergang (Liv Factory Racing) +5:29
  9. Sina Frei (Specialized Factory Racing) +5:58
  10. Samara Maxwell (Decathlon Ford) +6:09

Brief Analysis 

What did you think of this story?