Nino Schurter celebrates victory at Cross Country World Cup Val di Sole.

Nino Schurter tops Val di Sole podium

The Swiss superstar did as he does best: make it hard from the start, then make it harder.

Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM) celebrates victory at the UCI Cross-Country MTB World Cup in Val di Sole. Photo: © Piper Albrecht

Ryan Simonovich
by Ryan Simonovich 16.06.2024 Photography by
Piper Albrecht
More from Ryan +

Some things in life can always be counted on: death, taxes, and Nino Schurter winning World Cup races. The Scott-SRAM rider found his form once again to outride Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory Racing) in Val di Sole, Italy. 

Schurter was clearly feeling good as he powered ahead during the start loop to keep the pace high from the beginning, as he prefers to do. He was followed by Hatherly, Jordan Sarrou (Team BMC), and Specialized’s Martin Vidaurre. 

Those four quickly separated themselves by a few seconds as the chase was led by Cannondale’s Simon Andreasson (who would later DNF). 

Hatherly has made a habit of mixing it up at the front of races with the likes of Schurter and today was no different. He took up some pace-making on the second lap, with the South African and the Swiss rider looking the strongest out of the lead group. 

Behind, Mathis Azzaro (Decathlon-Ford), Filippo Colombo (Scott-SRAM), and Jens Shuermans (Giant Factory Off-Road) factored in the chase, although the midfield positions swapped often as the undulating course took its toll. 

Speaking of taking tolls, Sarrou didn’t have the legs on the day to stay with the leaders, and Viadurre also dropped off. 

Hatherly stuck with Schurter, but with a few laps to go the Swiss veteran upped the pace and dispatched his rival. 

Heading into the final lap, a group of six made sure the battle for third would be hard fought. Hatherly kept Schurter’s winning margin to only seven seconds, and Azzaro wound up his legs to sprint to third place on the podium. 

Brief analysis 

Men’s XCO results:

  1. Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM)
  2. Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory Racing) +0:07
  3. Mathis Azzaro (Decathlon Ford) +0:46
  4. Luca Braidot (Santa Cruz Rockshox) “
  5. Filippo Colombo (Scott-SRAM) “
  6. Simone Avondetto (Wilier-Vittoria) +0:56
  7. Marcel Guerrini (BIXS Performance) +0:58
  8. Lars Forster (Thömus Maxon) +1:00
  9. Jordan Sarrou (BMC) +1:03
  10. Jens Schuermans (Giant Factory) +1:15

What did you think of this story?