Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 11

It looks like today could go to the break, but the GC contenders need to be alert.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 09.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 11: ร‰vaux-Les-Bains to Le Lioran โ€“ 211 km

Date: Wednesday July 10, 2024

Streaming: ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Peacock/๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ FloBikes/๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Discovery+/ITV/๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡บ Eurosport/๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ SBS

Estimated finish time: ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ 11:12 am EDT/๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง 4:12 pm BST/๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡บ 5:12 pm CEST/๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ 1:12 am AEST

Stage type: Mountains

Summary: Stage 11 takes the Tour into the Massif Central for a day that could have GC implications and that will likely go to a break. This finale is tough. The second-category Col de Neronne is officially only 3.8 km in length but its 9.1% gradient will be all the harder after almost 20 km of gentler but sustained climbing that precedes it. And then the Puy Mary Pas de Peyrol and the Col de Pertus await before the Col de Font de Cรจre tops out just before the line. Some pretenders will be found out on these short but steep ascents.

Fantasy favorites: Picking favorites for a stage with such a breakaway-friendly profile is a matter of throwing darts at the dartboard, but we like Ben Healy, Tom Pidcock, Tobias Halland Johannessen, Kรฉvin Vauquelin, and Richard Carapaz here. They are all very good climbers but capable of success on a stage that isn’t only for the pure mountain goats. Of course, there’s always the possibility that the break gets reeled in, and in that scenario, Tadej Pogaฤar will unsurprisingly be the favorite.

What did you think of this story?