Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 5

The sprinters get another chance.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 02.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 5: Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to Saint-Vulbas – 177.4 km

Date: Wednesday July 3, 2024

Streaming: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Peacock/πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ FloBikes/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ Discovery+/ITV/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί Eurosport/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί SBS

Estimated finish time: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ 11:26 am EDT/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ 4:26 pm BST/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί 5:26 pm CEST/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί 1:26 am AEST

Stage type: Flat

Summary: A day after the Galibier, the sprinters will get another shot on a stage with a very flat run-in to the line. A late right-hand turn and then a few gentle curves are the main features of what will be a fast finish.

Fantasy favorites: Due to the late crash that left a few would-be contenders out of the mix on stage 3, the sprint hierarchy at the Tour de France feels very much undecided. We still like Jasper Philipsen as the clear favorite here, with Mads Pedersen, Dylan Groenewegen, a surprising Fernando Gaviria, Arnaud De Lie, Mark Cavendish, and maybe even Biniam Girmay or Gerben Thijssen as outsiders.

What did you think of this story?