Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 8

A tough one to predict.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 05.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 8: Semur-en-Auxois to Colombey-les-Deux-ร‰glises โ€“ 183.4 km

Date: Saturday July 6, 2024

Streaming: ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Peacock/๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ FloBikes/๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Discovery+/ITV/๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡บ Eurosport/๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ SBS

Estimated finish time: ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ 11:30 am EDT/๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง 4:30 pm BST/๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡บ 5:30 pm CEST/๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ 1:30 am AEST

Stage type: Flat

Summary: There arenโ€™t any individually hard climbs on the docket for stage 8 but the up-and-down route could give the break a chance. Look for the Classics specialists to try their luck up the road, and for the sprintersโ€™ teams to try to bring it all back. A slightly uphill finish will favor the more versatile sprinters in the end.

Fantasy favorites: This will be even tougher to predict than the other sprinter-friendly stages so far in the Tour (and consistent favorite Jasper Philipsen hasn’t won any of them, so clearly they weren’t easy to predict either). Philipsen is again a favorite here, but Arnaud de Lie may be an even better pick on this finish. Mads Pedersen, Wout van Aert, Biniam Girmay, and Philipsen’s teammate Mathieu van der Poel also look like good bets for this sort of stage. Mark Cavendish and Dylan Groenewegen can’t be counted out either, and it’s always possible that a break could stay clear, giving someone like Magnus Cort a chance.

What did you think of this story?