Lights

Comments

Stage 3 of the Tour de France.

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 3

The first day for the sprinters at this year's Tour.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 30.06.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 3: Plaisance to Turin – 230.8 km

Date: Monday July 1, 2024

Streaming: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Peacock/πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ FloBikes/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ Discovery+/ITV/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί Eurosport/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί SBS

Estimated finish time: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ 11:12 am EDT/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ 4:12 pm BST/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί 5:12 pm CEST/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί 1:12 am AEST

Stage type: Flat

Summary: With nearly 50 km of flat to finish the stage, the sprinters will have their time to shine in Turin. There are two sharp bends in the final kilometers but then it’s a long straightaway to the line that will favor the most powerful riders in the bunch.

Fantasy favorites: We’ll have a better sense of the sprinter hierarchy after stage 3, but until then, Jasper Philipsen is the clear favorite for the bunch kicks. Nobody was better at last year’s Tour, and nobody (barring riders who did the Giro d’Italia and aren’t at the Tour) has been so good this season as to muscle into the conversation with the 2023 green jersey winner. At the moment, Mads Pedersen looks like the strongest potential challenger to Philipsen in the sprints, but Arnaud De Lie, Dylan Groenewegen, Wout van Aert, and, of course, Mark Cavendish are among the many names that could also be in the mix.

What did you think of this story?