Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 6

Another day for the sprinters, in mustard and wine country.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 03.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 6: MΓ’con to Dijon – 163.5 km

Date: Thursday July 4, 2024

Streaming: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Peacock/πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ FloBikes/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ Discovery+/ITV/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί Eurosport/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί SBS

Estimated finish time: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ 11:28 am EDT/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ 4:28 pm BST/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί 5:28 pm CEST/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί 1:28 am AEST

Stage type: Flat

Summary: Stock up on mustard and wine as the Tour heads to the Burgundian capital of Dijon on a flat-as-a-pancake parcours. There is a roundabout with just under kilometer to go, and then it’s a straight run to the line: another day for the high-octane sprinters.

Fantasy favorites: He crashed in the first sprint opportunity and came up short in the second, but surely Jasper Philipsen will come good at some point, right? With a solid Alpecin-Deceuninck lead-out train and his own impressive turn of speed, Philipsen remains the favorite for the bunch kicks, but the way Mark Cavendish took such a clear win on stage 5, the Manxman is a deserving second favorite. Then again, he could also be forgiven if he shows up to stage 6 a bit tired from all the celebrating. Arnaud De Lie seems like another great option, having been up in the mix in both sprint stages so far. Dylan Groenewegen, Fabio Jakobsen, and Pascal Ackermann are others to watch on stage 6.

What did you think of this story?