Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 7

An individual time trial with a lump in the middle.

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 04.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 7: Nuits-Saint-Georges to Gevrey-Chambertin – 25.3 km (ITT)

Date: Friday July 5, 2024

Streaming: 🇺🇸 Peacock/🇨🇦 FloBikes/🇬🇧 Discovery+/ITV/🇪🇺 Eurosport/🇦🇺 SBS

Estimated finish time: 🇺🇸🇨🇦 11:29 am EDT/🇬🇧 4:29 pm BST/🇪🇺 5:29 pm CEST/🇦🇺 1:29 am AEST

Stage type: Individual time trial

Summary: Contre-la-montre! The stage 7 time trial should have a big impact on the GC battle, and it wouldn’t be a shock to see a GC rider win it either. It’s not an especially climber-y route, but that lump in the middle of the profile is not nothing (especially for heavier TT specialists), and on top of that, the GC favorites do tend to shine against the clock in three-week races when everything is riding on them.

Fantasy favorites: Time trials often have a very obvious favorite but several riders should contend for this win. We’ll give a slight edge to Remco Evenepoel, who looks to be in great form right now and who won’t mind the flatter parcours compared to some of his GC rivals. The profile also suits Wout van Aert, who came into the Tour on uncertain form but who has also looked pretty good thus far, as well as Stefan Küng. Nobody would be surprised, of course, if Tadej Pogačar wins the TT, and Juan Ayuso, Primož Roglič, and Jonas Vingegaard are both outsiders to win as well.

What did you think of this story?