Lights

Comments

Preview: 2024 Tour de France, stage 9

Gravel!

Dane Cash
by Dane Cash 06.07.2024 More from Dane +

Stage 9: Troyes to Troyes – 199 km

Date: Sunday July 7, 2024

Streaming: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Peacock/πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ FloBikes/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ Discovery+/ITV/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί Eurosport/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί SBS

Estimated finish time: πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ 12:00 pm EDT/πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ 5:00 pm BST/πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Ί 6:00 pm CEST/πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί 2:00 am AEST

Stage type: Hilly

Summary: Gravel! Stage 9 features 14 sectors of β€œchemin blanc” gravel, totalling 32 km in length, with a few small climbs on the docket for good measure. With the sectors sprinkled throughout and the last one 3.5 km long and coming just 10 km from the line, it should be a fun and unpredictable stage, and the winner can enjoy the champagne celebration all the more because the next day is the first rest day of the race.

Fantasy favorites: This terrain should bring the Classics riders to the fore, and the one who stands out as the strongest contender has been patiently waiting for his chances while supporting Jasper Philipsen so far in this Tour. Sure, Philipsen himself could have an outside shot on stage 9, but it looks like an even better opportunity for world champ Mathieu van der Poel to shine. Biniam Girmay, Arnaud De Lie, and Wout van Aert could also be in the mix, and Tadej Pogačar can’t be counted out either.

What did you think of this story?