Tom Pidcock crouches low over his handlebars as he climbs away from competitors at the Nove Mesto World Cup.

Tom Pidcock returns for another victory in Nové Město World Cup 

The reigning World Champion hasn't missed a beat as he returns to mountain bike racing after a spring road campaign.

Ryan Simonovich
by Ryan Simonovich 26.05.2024 Photography by
Piper Albrecht
More from Ryan +

Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) has returned to the mountain bike World Cup circuit, soloing to his first MTB win of the year ahead of an on-form Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM). 

Canyon-CLLCTV’s Luca Schwarzbauer led off the line as a crash took out several riders in the back third of the group. Specialized’s Victor Koretzky and Scott’s Fillipo Colombo led the field into the first technical singletrack section followed by Schurter, Charlie Aldridge (Cannondale Factory Racing), and Thomas Litscher (Lapierre-Mavic-Unity). 

After the start loop, Schurter hit the front as he is so comfortable doing. Cannondale’s Alan Hatherly took up the lead later in the lap,  joined by Koretzky, Colombo, and Schurter. Aldridge rode just off the back in fifth and Sam Gaze (Alpecin-Deceuninck) chased in sixth. 

Pidcock was in seventh heading into the second lap but made quick headway in catching up to the front group. Meanwhile, last round’s winner Simon Andreassen stopped in the tech zone before ultimately dropping out of the race, which had Olympic qualification implications for Denmark. 

Pidcock sat around fourth wheel and then attacked into the doubletrack climb, marked by Schurter and Koretzky. Schurter stuck on Pidcock’s wheel and the duo put 15 seconds into Koretzky and 30 on the chase group. Koretzky would continue to fade back into midfield. 

The following lap, Pidcock attacked out of the saddle and went solo, pulling out a 26-second lead on Schurter. 

Behind, Schwarzbauer led a large chase group vying for third, with Mathias Flückiger (Thömus maxon) also looking eager to drive the pace. The Swissman attacked the chasers during the penultimate lap with Mathis Azzaro (Decathlon-Ford). Bixs’ Marcel Guerrini also joined them for the final lap. 

Schurter pulled a few seconds back on Pidcock during the final lap but then the World Champion extended his lead again, whipping over the flyover jump on his way to victory. Guerrini attacked the chase group to take third in his best result of the year. 

Brief Analysis 


  1. Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers)
  2. Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM)
  3. Marcel Guerrini (Bixs Performance)
  4. Charlie Aldridge (Cannondale Factory)
  5. Mathis Azzaro (Decathlon-Ford)
  6. Mathias Flückiger (Thömus maxon)
  7. Luca Schwarzbauer (Canyon-CLLCTV)
  8. Gunnar Holmgren (KMC-Ridley)
  9. Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory)
  10. Lars Forster (Thömus maxon)

What did you think of this story?